Welcome to Waco

Unless you have been hiding under a rock the last 5 or so years…and haven’t viewed a television at all during that time…and despise HGTV (hey, there are a very select few of you out there #nojudgement), then you might have heard of a little show called Fixer Upper, hosted by the very lovely Joanna and Chip Gaines. Or maybe, just maybe, you may know of a tiny university in town by the name of Baylor? No? Hmm, well then here’s your opportunity to jump on the Waco-wagon and fall in love with this little-ish city in the heart of Texas. Just a 3 hour or so drive Northwest of Houston, it is the perfect day getaway from the concrete jungle for some much needed small-town charm.

Granted, just running shy of 125,000 residents, Waco isn’t your typical “small town.” It definitely gives its own little-big city character to visitors from all over. Whether you crave outdoorsy exploration or just want some good eats with a stiff drink…Waco definitely has something for visitors of all sorts and won a permanent spot in my heart for a get-out-of-town getaway day (and not just because I am an admitting Fixer Upper addict).

But what if you…dare I say it.. could care less of the HGTV trends or about the Baylor Bears?!?! What is a wanderer to do in this town? Luckily for you, I compiled my top 5 things to check out/explore/eat/drink while passing through or staying the night in Waco, Texas. I must note, I recently experienced a major computer crash and lost practically ALL of my pics from Waco…Baylor University, all of the shops and restaurants visited, the Suspension Bridge…sunset…every thing got wiped out. I’m SUPER bummed out I can’t share those with y’all but I do hope it still persuades anyone living in Texas or visiting go take a day’s drive over! You will not be disappointed!

#5. Roam the downtown streets

Incorporated in August of 1856, this centrally located Texan town is filled with history and beauty of all kinds. From the iconic ALICO Building hovering city center to the McLennan County Courthouse; its design and layout gives this quaint spot a Madison, Wisconsin vibe…which I totally dig. What I began to notice throughout my walks about town were the gorgeous street graffiti art murals scattered throughout alleyways and public parking lots. Definitely bring your camera along and go for a scavenger hunt for some gorgeous pieces. Also, about a 10-15 minute walk (if that) from the downtown area is the Brazos River and the renown Waco Suspension Bridge. Absolutely stunning and has a ton of historical placards to describe what the bridge has experienced, as well as the city of Waco.

#4. Be a Baylor Bear for a day

This city bleeds Green and Gold, and rightfully so, Baylor University is practically Waco, Texas. But out of all of the “University towns” I have journeyed through, this is by far the most beautiful and desirable campus I have ever witnessed. Hoping one day my younger sister lives out the traditional college campus-life I never really had (private urban-city college student), with that Texan football pride and away-from-home experience, it was still fun visiting and observing the Baylor student lifestyle.

#3. Find some coffee and relax

Obviously I wasn’t going to venture somewhere and NOT seek out the best coffee spots in town! Two must-visit spots…obviously I’m giving another Fixer Upper shoutout…and that would be to Common Grounds. The owners of this hipsteresque coffee house, a stone’s throw away from Baylor University, were featured on the show’s beginning season and I promised myself to visit whenever I got to Waco! So eclectic and cozy….and they have this amazing outdoor space where live music thrives throughout the week surrounded by completely worn out furniture and overgrown trees, I can’t wait to plan another visit to see a live show! My other go-to spot is in the downtown area, right by the Waco movie theater, Dichotomy Coffee & Spirits. This concept is trendy and right up my alley, with a full bar and coffee brew spot, extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff…you MUST check it out!

#2. Get some grub

I’ll be honest, Waco definitely is growing into a foodie destination. Sure, it is by no means as trendy and mainstream as Austin, Houston, Dallas or San Antonio for that matter, but it is developing into quite a scene if you’re looking for something unique and has a small town twist to the classics. The spot I ventured to was Twisted Root Burger Co. The building itself is a sight to see…but the moment you venture inside, wow, what a space! The décor is not only eclectic and modern, but they have creatively discovered a way to decorate with old beer kegs and transition a warehouse into a contemporary bar. I must add, the corny yet hilarious names they distinguish to all guests’ orders…it really brings out the cordial relations the staff has with the guests. Don’t forget to take a selfie by their amazing Waco sign painted on the wall by the restrooms! Sure…it’s a chain..but it’s not you’re typical idea of a corporate restaurant. Definitely has that independently owned vibe and nothing about it seems “cookie cutter.”

#1. When in Rome

Surprise, surprise…why else would you venture to Waco, Texas other than to spend a day or at least a few hours at the Magnolia Silos?! My goodness..where to start? Well, if you can get in without a line, check out the storefront. Absolutely stunning and makes you wanna max out your credit card! Joanna Gaines is in every nook and cranny, but I will say even on a slow, hazy weekday, it was busy! I ventured off to the back area of the silo shopping room and got my hands on one of the frequently seen t-shirts worn by Mrs. Gaines, the WACO designed grey tee. A bit of a splurge for a t-shirt, not gonna lie, but so worth it and I wear it practically every day off from work. (Yes, I just admitted that!) Just outside the silos is a huge lot of astro-turf and a picture-perfect moment with the Magnolia sign and silos in the backdrop. And hopefully y’all are hungry from shopping and exploring because not only did they just open their new bakery but they feature food trucks with plenty of seating space to get your grub on! For the full Fixer Upper experience, take a short 10 minute drive to her favorite local vendor and close friend from the show, Clint Harp, and peak in to his shop, Harp Design Studio Co. For handmade, locally produced décor…very fairly priced and the friendliest staff! Check it out!

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. kandriot1 says:

    Love the photography!

Leave a comment